The Team

Co-ordinating Principal Investigators

Professor Steven Tong
Professor Steven Tong is an infectious diseases physician with the Victorian Infectious Diseases Service and Co-Head of the Translational and Clinical Research cross-cutting discipline at the Doherty Institute. He spent 10 years in Darwin before moving to Melbourne to join the Doherty Institute in 2016. His research interests include skin pathogens (Staphylococcus aureus, Group A Streptococcus), hospital infections, Indigenous health, viral hepatitis and influenza. His passion is to apply cutting edge science to address clinically driven questions.
He is the current chair of the Australasian Society for Infectious Diseases Clinical Research Network.

Professor Justin Denholm
BMEd, MBioethics, MPH+TM, PhD, FRACP
Associate Professor Justin Denholm is the Medical Director of the Victorian Tuberculosis Program. Justin is an infectious diseases physician and ethicist and is actively involved in clinical and public health tuberculosis research and supervision. He is a Senior Staff Specialist at the Victorian Infectious Diseases Service at the Royal Melbourne Hospital, and Principal Research Fellow in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology at the University of Melbourne. He is also the current Chair of the Australasian Tuberculosis Forum, and co-Chair of the Ethics Advisory Group of the International Union against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease.

Professor Joshua S Davis
MBBS (Hons), DTM&H, FRACP, Grad Cert PopHealth, PhD
Professor Josh Davis is a clinician researcher and divides his time between clinical work as an Infectious Diseases physician at John Hunter Hospital in Newcastle, and research work as a principal research fellow based at Menzies.
His main research interests are clinical trials in the management of severe infections and epidemiology of severe bacterial infections.
Josh is the president of the Australasian Society for Infectious Diseases (ASID).

Chief Investigators

Bala Vankatesh
Professor of Intensive Care

Susan Morpeth
Clinical Microbiologist and Infectious Diseases Physician

David Paterson
Clinical Microbiologist and Infectious Diseases Physician

David Price
Statistician and Mathematical Modeller

Jason Roberts
Clinical Pharmacist 

Matthew O’Sullivan
Infectious Diseases Physician and Clinical Microbiologist

Megan Rees
Respiratory and General Medicine Physician

Vivek Jha
Kidney Doctor and Clinical Trialist

Thomas Snelling

Zoe McQuilten

Naomi Hammond
Intensive Care Nurse Researcher

Asha Bowen
Paediatric Infectious Disease Specialist


ASCOT Management Group

Susan Goulding
Clinical Trial Manager

Lauren Barina
Clinical Research Support Officer

Vi Nguyen
Biobank Coordinator

Methma Bandara
Administration Assistant